weather crossword | vocabulary (with answers for self-correction) | ESL & ELT activities answer-key (self-correction)

CROSSWORD ANSWER-KEY 

1- hurricane   3- drizzle   6- precipitation   7- blizzard   8- sleet   9-  shower   12- hail  13- mild

2- humid  4- drought   5- overcast   10- avalanche  11- breeze  14- thunder  15- lightning    16- flood      17- frost

Complete the sentences

  1. blizzard

  2. avalanche

  3. breeze

  4. drizzle

  5. drought

  6. flood

  7. frost

  8. hail

  9. humid

  10. hurricane

  11. lightning

  12. mild

  13. overcast

  14. shower

  15. thunder / thundering

  16. precipitation

  17. sleet

Weather & Seasons | ESL & ELT activities answer-key (correct yourself)

tip: if you need more vocabulary and help to do these activities or others, just visit this link:

https://brainperks4u.wordpress.com/2019/05/01/the-weather-vocabulary-esl-activity-picture-dictionary/

 

exercise 1

spring:  warm, sunny, fine, pleasant

summer: hot, sunny, humid,

autumn: rainy, cool, windy, mild

winter: cold, freezing, rainy, snowy, foggy, icy, frosty

*some adjectives may vary according to your perception of the weather and seasons and according to the country or city you are taking as reference

 

exercise 2

  1. it is very cold
  2. it is rainy
  3. it is very hot
  4. it is frosty today
  5. it is cloudy
  6. it’s snowy
  7. the wind is cold
  8. the weather is dull / cloudy
  9. the weather is warm / nice / dry
  10. it is foggy
  11. it is sunny and dry/warm

exercise 4

  1. windy
  2. rainy
  3. snowy, freezing
  4. sunny
  5. stormy

exercise 5

  1. What is the weather like in Ottawa ?  It’s cloudy and cold
  2. what is the weather like in Prague?  it is partially cloudy and hot
  3. …                                          in Paris ?  It is sunny and cold
  4. …                                          in London?  It is cloudy and cool
  5. …                                          in Lisbon ?  It is sunny and hot
  6. …                                          in Athens ?  It is sunny and hot
  7. …                                          in Oslo ?  It is partially cloud and warm
  8. …                                          in Delhi?  It is rainy and hot
  9. …                                          in Montreal?  It is rainy and cool
  10. …                                          in Cairo ?  It is sunny and hot

the weather | comprehension exercise | language, grammar, vocabulary, reading skills | ESL & ELT activity

tip: if you need more vocabulary and help to do these activities or others, just visit this link:  

https://brainperks4u.wordpress.com/2019/05/01/the-weather-vocabulary-esl-activity-picture-dictionary/

weather comprehension

weather comprehension 2

tip: if you need more vocabulary and help to do these activities or others, just visit this link:  

https://brainperks4u.wordpress.com/2019/05/01/the-weather-vocabulary-esl-activity-picture-dictionary/

What is the weather like ? | grammar, writing descriptions, pronunciation, vocabulary | ESL & ELT activities

 

In this class, you’ll learn how to talk about the weather in English. Talking about the weather in English can help with your conversation skills. We will teach you phrases, idioms, and vocabulary to describe weather in English.

Do you know what it means if someone says ‘it’s chucking it down today?’ If someone says ‘it’s baking today’, do you know what they are talking about?

British people are famous for talking about the weather. Do you know why? It’s because in the UK we have a lot of weather. You never know what the weather will be like. You can have all four seasons in one day.

We are going to look at a typical British day, so the weather is going to be very changeable. This means that weather can change quickly and unpredictably. It can be sunny, and then 30 minutes later, it will start snowing.

See the full version of this free lesson here: oxfordonlinenglish.com/talki…

Contents:
1. Talking About Cold Weather 0:53
2. Talking About Bad Weather 3:27
3. Talking About Hot Weather 5:03
4. Talking About Wintry Weather 6:17

 

ESL & ELT Activities

tip: if you need more vocabulary and help to do these activities or others, just visit this link:  

https://brainperks4u.wordpress.com/2019/05/01/the-weather-vocabulary-esl-activity-picture-dictionary/

1- Matching words and pictures on weather conditions and seasons:

the weather matching

2- Complete

the weather complete sentences

3– Complete this text

the weather complete text

4- Select the most suitable option

Weather_and_seasons_multiple_choice_py510sp

5- Answer these questions

describe the weather

 

6- Writing. 

a) Cut a weather map (for Argentina) out from a newspaper or take it from a weather online,

paste it and use it to describe the weather in the provinces of Buenos aires, Mendoza, Córdoba, Tierra del Fuego, Neuquén, Misiones, Jujuy and province of your choice.

Make some of those descriptions for today (present), yesterday (past), tomorrow (future prediction).

b) Now you personalize a weather map for Argentina or a country you prefer.  Add weather symbols and numbers to indicate temperature in 6 regions (provinces, states, cities, etc) and then ask questions and give answers to describe the weather in those 6 regions.

 

*tips for your writings: 

– try to use as many symbols as possible, make it varied (imagine it is summer in one part of the country and winter in another so as to practise as much vocabulary as possible)

– to practise different conjugations and tenses, ask questions referring to the present, past and future

– if you need more vocabulary and help to do these activities or others, just visit this link:  

https://brainperks4u.wordpress.com/2019/05/01/the-weather-vocabulary-esl-activity-picture-dictionary/

 

everyday conversations in English | questions & answers | personal info, hobbies, free time, at the shop, offer, request, ask, describing, the weather, likes & dislikes

Ask and Answer Common Questions

1. What do you do?

– I’m a student.

– I work in a bank.

– I work as a tour guide for a local tour company.

– I’m unemployed at the moment.

– I run my own business.

– I’m retired now. I used to be an engineer.

2. Are you married?

– Yes, I’ve been married for two years now.

– I’m divorced.

– Nope, I’m single.

– I’m separated – not divorced yet.

– I’m engaged – we’re getting married next year.

– No, but I’m in a relationship.

3. Why are you studying English?

– For work.

– I love learning new languages.

– So I can communicate when I travel.

– Because I’d like to immigrate to the U.S.

– I’m thinking of studying in England.

4. How did you learn English?

– I took classes for three years.

– I did an intensive course.

– I’ve been studying by myself.

– I picked it up from movies and songs.

– My friend taught me.

5. What do you do in your free time?

– I don’t have any free time.

– I go running a lot.

– I do volunteer work.

– I usually hang out with friends.

– I like reading and relaxing at home.

6. Did you like the movie?

– It was fantastic.

– It was terrible.

– It’s one of the best I’ve ever seen.

– No, I didn’t think it lived up to the hype.

– It wasn’t bad.

7. How are you?

– I’m wonderful.

– I’m fine, thank you. And you?

– I’m ok.

– Not bad.

– Very well, thanks.

– Pretty good.

– I’ve been better.

– Good, how about you?

8. What is the weather like today?

– Oh! Gorgeous, a perfect summer day!

– Hot and humid.

– It’s pouring.

– A little chilly.

– It’s quite cold.

– It’s raining heavily at the moment.

9. What time is it?

– It’s half past four.

– It’s a quarter past four.

– It’s twenty to eleven.

– I’m sorry but I don’t know.

– It’s one o’clock.

10. Can you help me?

– Of course!

– I’d be glad to.

– Will it take long?

– Sure – just a sec.

– Sorry – I’m a bit busy at the moment.

11. How are you feeling?

– Great! Never better.

– I’m all right.

– Like I need a vacation.

– A little depressed.

– Really awful.

12. How’s it going?

– It’s going well.

– Great! Couldn’t be better.

– Not bad.

– I can’t complain.

13. What are your hobbies?

– My hobbies consist of golfing, reading books, and watching TV.

– I like playing computer games in my free time.

– I like to cook.

– In the summer I play badminton, and in the winter, I go skiing.

– I love every type of sports.

14. What is the matter?

– Not much

– Nothing. Yourself?

– I’m good, yourself?

– Good. How are you?

– I’m not feeling so good.

 

Ask and Answers Common Questions

16 Mar 2020

 

Greetings & Goodbyes | Introducing Yourself to others | vocabulary & expressions | pronunciation & practise exercises

Greetings & Introducing (presenting) yourself

Useful English Greetings and Expressions for English Learners

1. Formal (to older people) greeting expressions

  • Good morning,

  • Good afternoon,

  • Good evening.

  • How nice to meet you!

  • Good to see you

  • Pleased to meet you

  The responses

  • Good morning                  

  • Good afternoon                

  • Good evening                    

  • How nice to meet you, too!

  • Good to see you, too

  • Pleased to meet you, too

 

2. Informal greetings

  • Hi,

  • Hello

 The responses

  • Hi,                                    

  • Hello                                

  • Nice to meet you      

Example

  • Val is a new student

  • Val: Hello. I am Virly, I am a new student

  • Lila      : Hello, Virly. My name is Lila Fatimah, do you come from Cirebon?

  •  Val: Yes, nice to meet you Lila

  • Lila : Nice to meet you, too

3. Closing

a. Good bye

b. Have a nice day

c. See you later

The Responses

  • Goodbye

  • You, too

  • So long. Take care.

 

4. Introduction

Self introductions

  • Hello. I’m Wawan

  • Hello. My name is Lusi

  • Hi. I’m Fatih. What’s your name?

The Responses

  • How do you do? I ‘m Rudi

  • Pleased to meet you

  • Hi. I’m Siti

 

 

 

Learn English Vocabulary for School Subjects

What do you say when you meet someone new?   Introduce yourself of course!

Introducing yourself is much more than saying your name. You need to tell some more information about you in English. Introducing yourself to strangers can be tricky because what you say depends on the context, situation (introduce yourself in a job interview, introduce yourself in an email or give self introduction in English class).

How to Introduce Yourself | Self Introduction

Introduce Yourself: Education

Questions:
Where do you study?
What do you study? / What is your major?
Answers:
• I’m a student at … (school)
• I study at …/ I am at …/ I go to … (school)
• I study … (majors)
• My major is …

Majors in English: accounting, advertising, arts, biology, economics, history, humanities, marketing, journalism, sociology, philosophy, …

Questions:
Why do you study English?
Do you speak English?
How long have you been learning English?/ How long have you learned English?

Answers:
• I study English because …
• I can speak English very well.
• I’ve been learning English for/ since …
• I can express myself and communicate in English.

Because: (self introduction sample)
• I like it a lot
• I love it.
• I think it’s important
• I have to
• It’s very important and necessary.
• I want to learn more about this language.
• I love to improve my English skills.

Questions:
Which grade are you in?
Which year are you in?
• I’m in … grade.
• I’m in my first/ second/ third/ final year.
• I am a freshman.
• I graduated from …/ My previous school was …
Question: What’s your favorite subject?

Answers:
• My favourite subject is …
• I am good at … (subjects)
Subjects: Maths, English, Physics, Physical Education, Science, Music, …
Self Introduction: Marital status
Questions: What is your marital status?
Are you married?
Do you have a boyfriend/ girlfriend?

Answers:
• I’m married/ single/ engaged/ divorced.
• I’m not seeing/ dating anyone.
• I’m not ready for a serious relationship.
• I’m going out with a … (someone)
• I’m in a relationship./ I’m in an open relationship.
• It’s complicated.
• I have a boyfriend/ girlfriend/ lover/ …
• I’m in love with … (someone)
• I’m going through a divorce.
• I have a husband/ wife.
• I’m a happily married man/ woman.
• I have a happy/ unhappy marriage.
• My wife/ husband and I, we’re separated.
• I am available.
• I haven’t found what I’m looking for.
• I’m ready for a rebound relationship.
• I’m a widow/ widower.
• I’m still looking for the one.
• I (don’t) have … (number) children.

Introduce Yourself: Others
• I’ve got a … (pet)
• I am a … person/ I’m … (character & personality)
• My best quality is … (character & personality)
• My best friend’s name is …
• I (don’t) have … (number) international friends.
• My dream is …

Character & Personality for self introduction: brave, calm, gentle, courteous, creative, hard-working, rude, unfriendly, unreliable, lazy, stingy, insensitive, …
Pets: dog, puppy, mouse, rabbit, cat, goldfish, …

ESL TASKS (Activities)

1- Use the expressions on the right to complete these sentences

How to Confidently Introduce Yourself

 

 

 

Health & Illnesses vocabulary | pronunciation | photo dictionary

Health & Illnesses Vocabulary in English | At the Doctor’s
Health Vocabulary - How to talk about health problems in English 4
Health Vocabulary - How to talk about health problems in English 3
Health Vocabulary - How to talk about health problems in English
Health Vocabulary - How to talk about health problems in English 1
Health Vocabulary - How to talk about health problems in English 2
  • asthma: a respiratory condition where spasms in the lungs cause difficult in breathing.

  • a backache: a prolonged pain in the back.

  • a broken leg: when a bone in the leg is broken.

  • A broken leg is put in a cast to help immobilize the leg so that it heals quicker. Other parts of the body with bones can also be broken, for example a broken arm, a broken wrist etc.

  • a cold: a common viral infection which causes mucous to run from the nose, gives a sore throat and often includes sneezing.

  • a cough: the act of expelling air from the lungs with a sudden sharp sound.

  • an earache: pain inside the ear.

  • a fever: an abnormally high body temperature, usually accompanied by shivering and a headache.

  • the flu: flu is the common name given for influenza. It is a contagious viral infection of the respiratory passages that causes fever and sever aching.

  • a headache: a continuous pain in the head.

  • heartburn: a form of indigestion felt as a burning sensation in the chest. It is caused by acid regurgitation into the esophagus.

  • (the) measles: an infectious viral disease causing fever and a red rash on the skin. It typically occurs in childhood.

  • a rash: a lot of small red spots on the skin that are usually itchy.

  • a sore throat: a condition of pain in the throat, typically caused by inflammation of it.

  • a stomachache (US) – stomach ache (Brit): The pain in a person’s belly. Notice how the word can be spelled together or as two words, depending on the country.

  • sunburn: when the skin becomes red with inflammation as a result of overexposure to the ultraviolet rays of the sun.

  • a toothache: the pain in a tooth or teeth.